top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKimmy Meyer

ONLY JESUS

I have the honor and privilege of being the children’s director at our church. With that comes great responsibility because whatever is being taught falls on my shoulders. I don’t just want our kids to just be entertained. I desire them to have a blast learning about our savior. I don’t take any of it lightly.

A little while ago we were memorizing the verse in John 14 where Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except though me.“ As I’m asking them questions about the verse to help them understand what they are hiding in their hearts, I ask, “Can we get to Heaven by doing good things?”. One of our core kids yells out confidently, “Yes!!”. I was immediately taken back by this response and took it personal. I thought, “Wow God, I’m totally failing you!”. So I proceeded to teach them no it is not by works but ONLY JESUS that gets us to heaven. Her response was what would be on anyones mind at this point of revelation. She looked at me completely bewildered and asked, “Then what's the point of doing good?”. GREAT QUESTION! This very conversation lead me to teach a series for a couple weeks called only Jesus so they knew the whole point of why we celebrate Christmas and Easter in the first place. Because if you believe your works is what gets you in them pearly gates, then why such the hoopla about a baby coming to earth?? Or a man dying on a cross? The celebration is for not just a baby but GOD coming to earth, and dying for us. But why?? Because Jesus came to save! This is a HUGE deal friends! Your eternity depends on it!!!

So I decided to teach a small series before Christmas to make sure we new what we were really celebrating. I called it ONLY JESUS because it truly is ONLY JESUS that we are saved from an eternity of hell. Jesus is the only way to the Father!

We started it with Ephesians 2:8-10,

God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. 10 For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

This completely nails the question "Then what is the point of doing Good?".

You were created to do good things!

“For God saved us and called us to live a holy life. He did this, not because we deserved it, but because that was his plan from before the beginning of time—to show us his grace through Christ Jesus.”

‭‭2 Timothy‬ ‭1:9‬ ‭NLT‬‬

https://www.bible.com/116/2ti.1.9.nlt


““Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know the way to where I am going.” “No, we don’t know, Lord,” Thomas said. “We have no idea where you are going, so how can we know the way?” Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.”

‭‭John‬ ‭14:1-6‬ ‭NLT‬‬

https://www.bible.com/116/jhn.14.1-6.nlt

Jesus gave us direction. When we don’t know where we are going the way seems dark and lost but when we look to Him for a way of living we learn how to navigate through life. And He also navigates us to eternal life in heaven.


“And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among people by which we must be saved [for God has provided the world no alternative for salvation].””

‭‭ACTS‬ ‭4:12‬ ‭AMP‬‬

https://www.bible.com/1588/act.4.12.amp

It’s very clear to me that Jesus is the way to the Father in Heaven. The only way of my salvation. We cannot leave Jesus Christ out of our vocabulary. We cannot leave Him out of our lives! He’s it! He is the only way!

Accept Jesus as your Lord and savior today! Remember He is the only key to get into heaven.

“If you openly declare that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

‭‭Romans‬ ‭10:9‬ ‭NLT‬‬

https://www.bible.com/116/rom.10.9.nlt

“They replied, “Believe in the Lord Jesus and you will be saved, along with everyone in your household.””

‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭16:31‬ ‭NLT‬‬

https://www.bible.com/116/act.16.31.nlt

33 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page